Soberjessie?

Since I’m not terribly creative, I struggled to come up with a name for my blog.  I really wanted soberjess, since everyone calls me Jess, but it was already taken.  Soo….I came up with soberjessie, and well, it sounds FUNNY to me.  See, my parents called me Jessie when I was a kid, but for as long as I can remember, I’ve been Jess or Jessica.  Jessie just sounds strange to me.  But when I was drying my hair this morning, it occurred to me that Jessie is perfect!  Because maybe it can signify a new beginning.  A sober journey.  Finding out who I REALLY am once I strip away the alcohol safety net, and start to discover more about myself.  So, Jessie shall be my new persona.

Today is day 6, and last night, some family that was in town came over for dinner.  I even poured wine for my mother and my aunt and didn’t crave it at all.  Well…maybe I thought about how nice a glass would be, but I stuck to my iced tea and had a nice, sober, enjoyable evening.  I notice that I have much more patience with my 4 year old son, and that I am much more present when I’m with him when I’m not drinking.  And I actually enjoy myself more.  But the absolute best part is that I don’t have those feelings of guilt that I would have after a night of drinking and simply “getting through the evening.” 

I sure hope this lasts, because I feel great today. 

2 thoughts on “Soberjessie?

  1. Congratulations Jessie! From experience, I know how hard that first week can be, so you deserve high praise for not only staying sober last night, but also for taking notice of the difference in how you feel. Documenting those feelings through a blog helps me remember those positive changes when cravings come around. I hope it helps you too. Congrats!

    • Thanks so much for the encouraging words! They are truly what is getting me through this phase as several of my friends are doubting the fact that I even have a problem.

Leave a Reply

