Day 8

Today is day 8 and I am holding steady.  Still not much of a desire to drink only because I am still relishing the feeling of waking up fresh and well rested.  Though today I definitely overdid it with the sweets.  I usually follow a paleo diet but since going without wine, I have given myself a little more leeway in regards to my diet.  Well, today I feel gross.  Way too many sweets- need to get back on track tomorrow.  

 

I am still struggling with the notion that maybe I don’t have a serious drinking problem.  My friends and family always tell me “you aren’t that bad,” or ” you don’t really drink that much.”  But if I have feelings of guilt about drinking or if I drink to escape the daily bullshit that comes from working full time and raising a four year old, doesn’t that constitute a problem?? Do I need to be falling down drunk to feel bad about drinking? Isn’t it bad enough that I would read to my son every night drunk, or at least seriously buzzed? Or that I’d plant him in front of the tv so I could drink in peace?? That, my friends, seems like a problem to me…

4 thoughts on “Day 8

  1. I was always told that normal drinkers don’t sit around wondering if they have a drinking problem. If we think we have a problem, we probably do.

    And you know what? Even if you don’t, why wouldn’t you want to live a healthy, alcohol-free life and be fully present for your little one? Lots of people, especially athletes, choose not to drink for a gazillion different reasons.

    I had major sugar cravings when I quit. A lot of us that quit do. They’ll fade in time.

    Doing great Jessie! Congrats on #8!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Christy. What I was too ashamed to say in my post last night, but what I will say right now, is that my battle with the demon called wine had led me to cheat on my husband, drive drunk on so many occasions that I can’t remember (a couple times with my son in the car), and to have a reputation at work about my drinking. I think that is all quite problematic, and I get tired of having to feel like I must justify my decision. I owe it to my husband and my son to be the best version of myself that I can be, and wine just doesn’t fit into that equation.

  2. Hi jess- found this thru drunky drunk girls blog and wanted to thank you for sharing your journey. I’m a newbie, hence my name, to all this but it feels great to read other people’s perspectives when I’m going thru the same thought processes. Look forward to reading more!

  3. I know this is a super old post. But I’m going through sober blogs and reading early posts because I’m only on day 3 and struggling. I also struggle on and off about whether or not I have a serious drinking problem. I’m so glad that you commented on this blog about the problems it caused you. Min are similar.

Leave a Reply

