My first triathlon!

Well, today is day 23, and I completed my first triathlon!  Let me tell you – THAT felt so much better than any glass of wine ever has!  While I was finishing up what felt like the never ending run from hell, I heard a few ladies behind me talking about what kind of cocktail they would have when they got home.  I was thinking to myself “jeez, an iced green tea would kick ass right about now.”   fuck you, Wolfie!  

I finished my tri in 1hour, 51 minutes and 48 seconds – to be precise.  And I finished the bike course in under an hour.   Woo hoo!  I signed up to volunteer at a triathlon next weekend, and honestly as much training as this took, and as much as I bitched about it, I can’t wait to do it again!  

7 thoughts on “My first triathlon!

  1. What does “fuck you, Wolfie” mean?

    • Hi there! Belle and some of the others that are participating in the 100 day challenge use the phrase “Fuck you Wolfie” to push back against that little nagging voice inside of all of us alcoholics that urges us to drink. For me, Wolfie is a gigantic glass of Cakebread chardonnay that chases after me just begging me to take a sip. Well, FUCK YOU, WOLFIE, because I don’t drink anymore! 🙂

  2. Huge congrats on a race well done! Remember this feeling and draw on it when you are feeling low, for you my dear are a champion. No one can ever take that away from you.
    Congratulations!!!
    (And yay for volunteering! Keep active, involved and healthy… WTG!)

    • :-). Definitely need to remember this feeling to draw upon when I’m feeling down and when that fucker Wolfie is whispering in my ear. I’m sorry that your run didn’t go as planned – but even 8 miles is pretty cool. Good luck today!

  3. WOW, well done you! You’re kicking some arse. Fuck you Wolfie indeed. That green tea was well deserved. I hope it was accompanied by some cake too 😉 You earned it.

Leave a Reply

