Sunday Funday

Today was Sunday Funday at my sister’s house. And I was the only sober one, aside from my son. Hubby only had a handful of beers, and it didn’t get totally out of control, but everyone was buzzy and drinky and silly. I can honestly say that today, I didn’t miss it. My sister’s fiance smoked some ribs and chicken, and we ate way too much. My boy and I brought a big bin of Legos and we played and played and played. Had to leave around 6pm to pick my mother up from the airport – she was returning from a trip to Norway with a bunch of ladies that she regularly hangs out with. So it was fun to bring my son to the airport to watch the planes as we waited for Mimi to get off the plane.

Speaking of Mimi – I did confront her about her behavior on Labor Day. She even emailed my father and apologized for her ridiculous behavior, and while she said that she probably just shouldn’t drink wine, she has not acknowledged that she might have an unhealthy relationship with alcohol. I guess that she will have to come to that realization herself. I can’t push the issue – hell, I’m only now beginning to address my own issues.

I’m sitting at 65 days today, and I’m starting to realize that I’m substituting food for booze, and I’ve gained a few pounds. I’ve also not been working out as much as I should be. I really have been trying to focus more on my family, which is a good thing, but I’m starting to really feel shitty about myself (despite my sobriety). I’ve usually been able to juggle it all, but lately, I’m struggling to keep all of the balls in the air. I’m not even thinking about drinking, but I guess I just feel exhausted, mentally. Maybe it’s from finally having to face life without the crutch?

One thought on “Sunday Funday

  1. Taking care of you is number one my dear.. The rest will fall into place.. Your on the right path .. And consuming yummy ribs instead of rancid vino, is so much better for you and your soul…yay 65!!!!!

Leave a Reply

