Day 3 – Happy 2014!

Well, I drank a little over the holidays.  No more than two glasses of wine on any given day, but I still drank.  And while I didn’t get drunk, and I didn’t get ridiculous, I still drank.  I don’t want to dwell on it, I really want to just move on.   I’m just happy that I was able to moderate on those occasions – maybe my successful 100 day challenge taught me that I don’t NEED alcohol to have a good time.  I’m not convinced that I could moderate like that all the time, though, so I’m back on the 100 day challenge, as of January 1st. 

Belle said that I need to treat myself every now and then, so this evening I had pizza and chocolate chip cookies – not necessarily good for my fitness/diet regimen, but oh well.   Can’t deprive myself of EVERYTHING 🙂

Whenever I focus on my fitness, I seem less inclined to want to drink, so I’m excited to say that, while I won’t be doing any triathlons this year (can’t get over my hatred of open water swimming), I’m going to kick off the season with a 4 mile “Shamrock Run” in March, and I am doing a century (100 miles on my bike) in June, and perhaps even another at the end of June, just haven’t decided yet.  Then I want to focus on running as many sub-30 5ks as possible, and of course, I want to continue to put miles on my road bike this summer.  I will also continue to focus on strength training, as it’s my first love when it comes to fitness.  Last night, for the first time ever, I tried yoga, and I really liked it!  I’m going to put myself first and really focus on health and fitness, and kick the alcohol and sugar addictions to the curb for 2014. 

I love new beginnings, and that is what this year is.  Wouldn’t it be sooo cool to make 2014 the year of NO ALCOHOL??   I think it would!  I even posted it on Facebook to make me more accountable to others.  As some of you have said before, sober is the new black.  I’ll raise my glass (of iced tea) to that!! 

5 thoughts on “Day 3 – Happy 2014!

  1. Yay! Do it do it do it. I am learning from my own recent experience that if you keep going it quickly creeps back up. I mean, I knew that really, but I guess I needed to test it out for myself. NOT worth it though. Stop again while you’re ahead. You won’t regret it but you almost certainly will continuing to drink. You sound strong and positive and that is the best time to jump on the sober pony and ride hard! (Ok, mixed metaphors there but you get the idea!)

  2. All sounds great! I’m the same with fitness helping me stay focused. For me, yoga is an awesome way to work on fitness, mental health, and staying sober all at the same time. It’s great therapy if you find the right class for you. I’ve been practicing for a couple years and it’s gotten me through some tough times! Happy 2014 and new beginnings!

  3. Awesome I look forward to sober 2014 with you. Like u I wish I could be a normal drinker and moderate but I don’t think it’s in my cards either. I’m on day 74 of the challenge and dal ready committed to 180.

    I ride as well, hate running but I go sign up for races. I too trying to get back into my fitness regime. I look forward to hear how your training is going. I never did a century but maybe one day. 56 was my furthest!

    Hugs
    Momma Bee

  4. I hope your new years resolution is going well.

  5. Hi Jessie! I want to thank you for your open and honest blog posts. Your willingness to share all aspects of your sober journey is why I’m nominating you for a Sunshine Award (http://mentalrollercoaster.com/2014/02/08/letting-in-the-sunshine/). Thank you for sharing and inspiring!
    It’s been a while since you’ve posted; I hope that all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

