Early morning feeling grateful

Feeling so grateful to be sober today.   I let my son sleep with us last night and we fell asleep around 8:30 which is pretty early for me.   So, I was up at 4am – got my 30 minutes in on the elliptical and read some sober blogs.   This is what has been missing from my routine (or lack thereof) that had previously kept me sober.   Self care, exercise, a focus on sobriety and what a gift it truly is.  I can’t keep getting caught up in what others are doing (drinking) and thinking that it OK for me to do the same.  I’m going to have to carve my own path and it may be lonely at times but I know it will be worth it in the long run.

3 thoughts on “Early morning feeling grateful

  1. I have really found that when I “carve my own path” it is not so lonely as I expect. A big difference for me in sobriety is being able to ask myself what it is I truly want to be when I “grow up” as it were and then to start building those foundations to get there – truly a lifelong process. I find this approach to contrast with my drinking where I felt much more like the ball in a pinball machine – bouncing all over the place is a constant state of chaos with no real direction.

    Best wishes

  2. I like that..carve my own path…I like the idea of not worrying what others are doing…because we can only do what is right for us…I can totally relate to the pinball analogy, so thank you robert and soberjessie for giving me something to think about in a good way. Peace.

  3. Grateful to be sober is a lovely feeling. Finding time to take care of myself is a huge part of keeping that going. And I agree with you, it’s absolutely worth it. Hooray you!!! xo

Leave a Reply

