Day 19

Not too much to report today, but I find that the more I blog, the more focused I am on staying sober. Normally, on a Thursday evening at 7:45, I’d be well into a bottle of wine and probably opening a second one. Or maybe, I’d be “being good” and waiting for Friday, but I’d be jonesing bad. But instead, after work, I took my son to karate, then we went and got his hair cut and my eyebrows waxed. Came home and I took a quick bath (I was so cold I just couldn’t warm up!) then made dinner. While we ate, I helped my little guy practice for his spelling test tomorrow (seriously – a spelling test in kindergarten!? Things sure have changed since I was little!). And I even snuck in a run on the dreadmill. Then hubs and I cleaned up the kitchen and chatted. None of this would have happened if I was drinking. Well – maybe the bath;). But that’s about it.

I’m really excited about forging my new sober identity. I feel like there is so much opportunity to live the life I’ve always wanted to live. Like I’m on the brink of something big…

8 thoughts on “Day 19

  1. I’m with you on this! I’m loving that today is usually a day that goes sour for me. But the sober me makes pretty good decisions! Enjoy the rest of your night and keep on blogging!

  2. You are on the brink of something big!
    Great night. Your son will thank you when he grows up to be a good speller. Lol

  3. You ARE!!! You’re on the brink of a real life!!

    Awesome Thursday!

    Sherry

  4. Be excited and proud it is great to read, living life, being active and present ..remember this post and read it if you think about having a drink.

  5. Thanks – I’m definitely going to remember this when the urge strikes.

Leave a Reply

