The concert, continued

I was so bolstered by your comments of support last night as I drove twelve of my closest friends and family members to the Billy Joel concert.  Thank you so much!

For the record, I had an amazing time!  I am giddy with happiness this morning that I had FUN and even moments of pure joy without having to be intoxicated.  I danced, sang, snuggled up to my hubby, laughed with my friends, and even walked 2+ miles to the parking lot after the show (instead of waiting for the shuttle bus), and then drove my friends home safely, came home, washed my face and brushed my teeth, and slept a guiltless sleep, with the words of the Piano Man’s songs streaming through my dreams.  And let me tell ya, the man is 65 years old and his voice is FLAWLESS!  What a show!  He played for 2 and a half hours straight and just belted them out, one after another.   It’s the best concert I’ve ever been to.

My sister got so hammered that she almost barfed in the van on the way home.   Another friend got so drunk she was an emotional mess.   I’m so not judging, because I’ve been there countless times, but I’m just happy I’m not in their shoes today.

Day 36.   Bring it on!

7 thoughts on “The concert, continued

  1. Good for you! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the show sober! I get encouragement from your post.

  2. I’m sooo happy for you! I knew it would be great. Isn’t is funny how much fun things can be when we are sober? it’s so weird, I thought all the fun would be gone but I’m in such a better place now.

  3. Very excited for how your night went down! Every time you hear a song he sings you will forever remember last night. I saw him and Elton John in Vegas a long time ago and the only reason why I was sober was because the line to get drinks was way too long the whole night and I didn’t want to miss any of the show. A blessing in disguise! I’ve always wondered if the part where it says “Bill, I believe this is killing me” refers to Bill W? Congrats on day 36!!!!!!!

  4. I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to read this! xo

  5. Woo hoo. A concert that you will remember!

  6. It is wonderful to hear you sounding so positive. You’re amazing.

  7. I was in your friends shoes just this past Saturday. And Tuesday last week. And Friday. On boy, just by writing it all out makes me feel ashamed.

Leave a comment