Time for wellness

Winter is such a depressing time of year for me.  I’m not into skiing, snowshoeing, sledding, etc.  I detest being cold, which is somewhat unfortunate as I live in Upstate New York.  But what I’ve noticed is that some part of me stops living when it’s cold.  All of my goals, ambitions, grand ideas seem to wait until spring has sprung.  My motivation hibernates all winter long.  And honestly, I’m over it.  I’m proud of the work I’ve done on my sobriety thus far, but I’ve let everything else slide, and I’m feeling the effects of it, mentally and physically.

Although this is my sobriety blog, I want to rebrand it as my wellness blog.  I want to bring my focus back to eating and cooking healthy meals, moving my body, finding time to meditate and pray, connecting in a positive way with my husband and son, and working on being the best version of myself that I can be.   Simply being sober isn’t enough.

Today’s focus:  putting down the electronics and truly being present with my husband and son.

14 thoughts on “Time for wellness

  1. I think you are making a very important observation and something that I wish I had focused on more in early recovery. Early on I went to too many AA meetings where the line went something like “I came to AA to get sober, not holy” and “My spouse is on me about x,y, or z, but if I am not sober, then I will never be able to do x, y, or z” – so there is truth in both of those statements, but I know that I am able to use them as an excuse not to deal with real issues facing my life.

    If there is one thing I have learned to appreciate over the years it is that recovery and sobriety are best when the incorporate the entire being – not just the simplistic and mechanical of not ingesting alcohol. Congratulations for learning this lesson so early on.

    Best wishes,

    • Robert, thanks- I do think it’s all about finding some sort of balance, which I struggle with completely, and if I don’t at least put some effort into making myself more healthy on all levels, I think I will struggle more to stay sober. If I only focus on physically not drinking alcohol, without finding joy and strength from bettering myself on sell levels, I’m bound to fail. It’s a package deal, ya know?

  2. Winter blah’s….I often think that there should only be 3 seasons, knocking winter out. I’m not sure what happened to our winter here in Cali but when the sun shines, I’m happiest. I enjoy your posts! Have a kick a$$ Sunday, my east coast sister! Enjoy time with your hubby & son. We’re off to ride bikes to breakfast. I know there will be a couple melt downs from my younger two, but it’ll be worth it. the car used to always win after waking up hung over. I’m learning to be patient. 🙂 jen

    • Jen, how was the bike ride? I almost went for a run, but it was a cold and windy 19 degrees, and just getting over a chest cold, I didn’t want to breathe in that cold air!
      Send your east coast sister some of that west coast sunshine;)

      • Whoa! Sunshine is on it’s way! The ride was fun! Definitely took more time to get there, but the girls had fun and were troopers. Of course I over indulged but worth it. Glad your getting over your cold, not fun. Hope you enjoyed your day with your loves:)

      • Hey there, just wanted to check in – I’ve been doing a poor job with the fitness challenge – I caught a nasty sinus infection last week and am just starting to feel better. Fitness was the last thing on my mind. Trying to get back to it today!

      • Hey there! I’ve been thinking of you. I hope you feel better, whatever that has been going around seems like it’s tough to get rid of. We’ll start another challenge when you are 100%. You made my morning by checking in so thank you:) enjoy your weekend.

  3. Winter is tough for me too, and I live in northern Canada.
    Although I think wellness is a lifelong journey, sobriety needs to be at the forefront for a while.
    It does require a great deal of effort and respect. And focusing on it teaches us some great lessons about how and why we react to stress the way we do.

    I think you will be missing out if you don’t give it the top billing it deserves for a while.

    That said, I think this is a life altering path. It does involve making changes to our whole being. Have you read recovery 2.0? I love it. Tommy Rosen really has a great view on all this and it really clicks with my own experience.

    • Thanks for your insight – and I agree wholeheartedly. My journey to sobriety over the past couple of years (several stops and starts) has occurred at the expense of my other healthy habits, and while I want to pick up the rest of the balls and start juggling, I know that staying sober needs to be my number one priority. Frankly, the rest of it doesn’t matter if I can’t stay sober. I’m going to have to check out the book you recommended. I’ve been reading recovery lit like it’s going out of style.

  4. I think we should all rebrand to Wellness Blogs. After the actual act of getting sober, isn’t the rest about getting well? I like your plans. Rock on!

    Sherry

  5. I live in Boston and it has been a winter from Hell! I do ski so I do get out and exercise. During the week though it’s been cold and the wind has made it miserable! Have you thought about joining a gym? I belong to one and at least I get some exercise. It helps clear the mind and now that I’m sober my mornings are a lot easier to deal with.

Leave a Reply

