Day 42

It’s been a busy week, both at work and at home.  A had his very first kindergarten play on Wednesday, and he had to dress up like a kitty cat.  I drew a nose and whiskers on him, and he looked adorable!  But he has this weird thing when he gets up in front of a crowd to perform where he just looks completely disgusted and unmotivated – almost like he’s “too cool” to perform.  Like “ugh, Mom, REALLY, a cat??  How lame is this!”  Yep, that’s my kindergartener!  Already jaded…

Work has been crazy, too, but I love my job, and so it’s ok.  It’s amazing how much more productive I am when I’m not dealing with hangovers and guilt from my drinking.  And in my industry, drinking is expected.  I work with men, and they work hard and play hard.  But, I’ve already conquered a few work functions where I’ve been the sober one, and now everyone is starting to expect it from me.  It’s nice to remember what I actually say to my co-workers and customers.  We have a big trip to Las Vegas in a little over a month for a work function (they expect over 15,000 employees and customers for this convention/business meeting), and I’m already planning my strategy for staying sober.  One of my plans is to wake up early (which shouldn’t be a stretch – I’m an early bird anyhow, and going from east coast to west coast, I’ll be all banged up anyhow) and run the Strip.  I cannot WAIT to do that!

As far as me, and my focus on wellness, well, I’ve figured out how to sync my Fitbit to MyFitnessPal, and I’ve been doing a great job tracking my calorie intake.  I’m not being terribly rigid, because I tend to get derailed quickly when I do, but it really is making me more aware of my body’s signals to eat when I’m hungry, as opposed to eating out of boredom and stress.  And as a result, I’ve lost about 4 pounds this week:)  What I also like is that MyFitnessPal tells me when I’m making a good food choice (ex. thai sweet potato sushi rolls – excellent source of Vitamin A!), so it’s nice to be encouraged when making a smart choice.  AND, I have more energy, because I’m not bogged down with excess food that my body doesn’t need.

I’m seeing my hairdresser today – who happens to be one of my closest friends – and I’m doing it!  I’ve been going back and forth for AGES about chopping my long, lovely hair off boy short, and I’m going to do it.  I’ve been saddled with thick, luxurious, unruly hair for ages, and as much as I love it, I hate it, too.  It’s just too much.  When I was in college, I had a cute pixie cut, and everyone said I wore it well.  So, I’m going to do that again.   I’ll literally be cutting off 10-12 inches, easily.  And I’m nervous as hell!!  I’ve already told some of my co-workers that I’m doing it so that Monday morning won’t be so much of a shock (I think that is the part I’m most stressed about), and also so that I don’t lose my nerve.

The urge to drink has been nonexistent these days, for which I’m grateful.  I had the realization the other morning that “wow, I don’t EVER have to wake up hung over again!”  It was so freeing.  I really love this life, hard emotions and all.  I can’t believe I ran from it for so long.

4 thoughts on “Day 42

  1. Go Jessie!!!! This is great and motivational! Wish I could see a hair pic. What a perfect time for a new cut for the new you. I bet A’s play was adorable. Watching our own kids in the spotlight is always so gratifying but I get so nervous too! Cheers to losing 4 pounds, 42 days, lack of cravings for alcohol, eating well, upcoming trips and basically kicking a$$!!!!!!

  2. Wow! All great stuff! It’s wonderful to hear how well you’re doing. Let us know how the haircut goes–it sound like a great plan. xo

  3. In my industry we are expected to drink as well. Last year I went to a conference in Vegas. The first morning pretty much everyone, including me, woke up with a hangover. It was as normal as it gets. I remember sitting at a conference session, head pounding, and wondering why in the world I did it to myself.
    Have fun in Vegas! I am yet to experience it sober.

Leave a Reply

