55 days

Today marks 55 days sober, and it just seems to keep getting better.  I feel like I’ve been neglecting my blog, and I know that always puts me in dangerous territory.  Once I lose focus on blogging/reading, I lose focus on why staying sober is so important, so I really need to continue to make the effort to at least check in more frequently.  However, with all of that being said, I haven’t felt tempted even once.  I saw my best friend this morning, and she asked if I’m still doing the “not drinking” thing….and I told her that I’m not saying NEVER EVER, (because I don’t want to fail and have to face up to it), but that right now, I feel so good without the guilt, the shitty sleep, the bad skin, the remorse, the making an ass out of myself, and the being present, that I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing.

I had a really good day today – met my friend this morning at 7am (she did my hair) – in the past, I’d be all hungover for a Saturday morning hair appointment, but today I was fresh as a daisy…well, maybe that’s an exaggeration, but at least I didn’t feel like a smashed bag of assholes!  Then I came home to do some stuff around the house and spend some time with my hubby and my son.  Visited with my mom and sister, and then my sister ended up coming over to my house before dinner time.  We made the impromptu decision to go out to dinner (my sis and my boys and I), and most Saturday nights, I’d be looking for the place with the good wine list.  Tonight, we went to a pizzeria that didn’t even serve alcohol.  After that, we decided to go do a little shopping, and then stopped for ice cream afterwards.  Seriously, not a wild and crazy Saturday night, but it just felt good to have a nice time with my family and my sister.  I’m really hoping that she comes around a little more often, because she is in a really bad spot right now, and could use the company.  And honestly, I could use her company too.  I miss her…

Listening to my husband and son play Battleship – they are laughing and being silly. I’m curled up with two American bulldogs on the couch.  And it’s Saturday night at 9:15pm.  I’m sober.  And I’m so content right now.  This life is good.

9 thoughts on “55 days

  1. Sounds like you are genuinely enjoying your life and what is truly important now that alcohol is not in the picture. 55 days sober – that is awesome!

  2. Congrats on 55 days! Your Saturday sounds just lovely. Here’s to many more happy, sober days!

  3. “Smashed bag of assholes” – that truly sums up hangoversville 🙂 Love the description of your super sober Saturday x

  4. I love hearing about how you’re doing and your happy sober weekends.

    • Thank you! I almost feel guilty that I’m not struggling this time around, and feel like I’m just blowing sunshine all over the place, but it HAS been a struggle overall. DRINKING and the bad decisions I’ve made have been the big struggle. This part is easy compared to what I’ve done to myself and my family in the past. Thanks for your comment:)

  5. Congrats on 55 days! Every struggle is a lesson. Sending hugs.

Leave a Reply

